Five Pieces for Solo Marimba

posted on March 24th 2014 in with 0 Comments

Instrumentation: five-octave marimba

Duration: 8 minutes

Click to Purchase

Premiered by Naoko Takada on September 12, 2011

Commissioned by Naoko Takada

Publisher: Bachovich Music Publications

Similar to the way we taste through smell, this kind of intuitive awareness is explored in “Five Pieces for Solo Marimba”. The player is asked to react to the resonances and natural colors that lie within the instrument. Movements II and IV are meant to be objective statements with a sense of unresolved tensions. Movements I, III and V are subjective afterthoughts, creating an atmosphere of a place or situation. Combined, the overall effect is a constant balance between the inner sounds of the instrument and the existence of some physical sensation.

The piece was written for and premiered by Naoko Takada on September 12, 2011 at the PAS International Percussion Competition in Fermo, Italy.

View Score Sample